Awards & Fellowships

Andrea Prader


The Andrea Prader Prize is an annual Leadership Award given to a member of the Society. It is the most prestigious ESPE senior award and was created to honour lifetime achievement in teaching and research, as well as to recognise outstanding leadership and overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology.

The prize is awarded through final selection by the Andrea Prader Committee.The deadline for nominations is 10 December each year.


  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Candidates must be nominated by 1 ESPE member in writing to the Secretary General.
  • A letter of endorsement, outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award, should accompany the nomination.
  • Candidates should submit their CV to the Secretary General.
  • Selection of the award winner will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee.
  • The winner is invited to present a lecture at the ESPE Annual Meeting.


Candidates must be ESPE members, excluding current members of the ESPE Council and the Prize Selection Committee.

All nominations must be submitted electronically to the ESPE Secretary General at
Failure to submit nominations electronically may result in delays to the process.

All nominations will be acknowledged by email.


A decision will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee and is based on the candidates’ lifetime achievements within the field of paediatric endocrinology.

The successful candidate will be notified by the Secretary General by the end of March. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.

This award is made possible by the generous support of Pfizer, USA.

Previous Winners

  • 1988 Dr Milo Zachmann, Zürich, Switzerland
  • 1989 Dr Leo Van den Brande, Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • 1990 Dr Raphael Rappaport, Paris, France
  • 1991 Dr Albert Aynsley-Green, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
  • 1992 Dr Nathalie Josso, Montrouge, France
  • 1993 Dr Martin Ritzèn, Stockholm, Sweden
  • 1994 Dr Maguelone Forest, Lyon, France
  • 1995 Dr Pierre Sizonenko, Geneva, Switzerland
  • 1996 Dr Niels Skakkebaek, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 1997 Dr Walter Teller Ulm, Germany
  • 1998 Dr Hans Åkerblom, Helsinki, Finland
  • 1999 Dr Zvi Laron, Petah Tikva, Israel
  • 2000 Dr Charles Brook, London, UK
  • 2001 Dr Paul Czernichow Paris, France
  • 2002 Dr Jean-Louis Chaussain, Paris, France
  • 2003 Dr Michael Ranke, Tübingen, Germany
  • 2004 Dr Stephen Shalet, Manchester, UK
  • 2005 Dr Wolfgang G Sippell, Kiel, Germany
  • 2006 Dr Ieuan Hughes, Cambridge, UK
  • 2007 Dr Martin Savage, London, UK
  • 2008 Dr Stenvert Drop, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
  • 2009 Dr Jan Maarten Wit, Leiden, The Netherlands
  • 2010 Dr Ze'ev Hochberg, Haifa, Israel
  • 2011 Dr Charles Sultan, Montpellier, France
  • 2012 Dr David Dunger, Cambridge, UK
  • 2013 Dr Annette Grüters-Kieslich, Berlin Germany
  • 2014 Dr Jean–Pierre Bourguignon, Liege, Belgium