ESPE Working Group on Obesity

The Obesity working group aims to achieve a better understanding of the mechanisms involved in obese children which put them at risk of metabolic problems during childhood and adolescence.

Programme for the Annual Meeting Symposium in Vienna

The Annual Meeting Symposium for the Obesity Working Group will take place on Thursday 19 September 2019 at 08:00-10:00 in Vienna, Austria.  

Programme for the 2019 Annual Meeting Symposium

Report on activities from 2018

A collaborative project, funded by the ESPE, between Drs.  Wieland Kiess, Bessie Spiliotis and Jesús Argente, has come to completion. The data generated by this project is currently under review for publication.

Before assuming duties as the chair of the Obesity Working Group, Dr. Chaychenko instituted a survey regarding Insulin Resistance. The aim of this survey is to know how the diagnosis of hyperinsulinemia and insulin resistance is made in different types of hospitals (e.g., University, Government, private, out and in-patient clinic) as well as in different countries. This project was approved by the scientific committee of the ESPE ObWG and ready for the distribution.

Also we’ve got a confirmation from about 50 participants (from EU and non-EU areas) who ready to take part in activities of ObWG.

The ESPE Obesity Working Group held their annual meeting during ESPE 2018 in Athens, Greece. This meeting included a symposium where 4 speakers presented diverse topics related to childhood obesity. The speakers and topics were as follows:

  1. Body shapes: growth phenotypes in obese children: Dr. Antje Köner, Liepzig, Germany
  2. Impaired fasting glycaemia in pediatric obesity and type 2 diabetes in young adulthood: Dr. Claude Marcus, Stockholm, Sweden
  3. Less prenatal and/or more postnatal weight gain: A highway to POC: Dr. Francis De Zegher, Leuven, Belgium
  4. Effects of the fetal-neonatal environment on later metabolism: Dr. Julie Chowen, Madrid, Spain.

The symposium was well attended with extended discussion after each presentation.

Upon termination of the symposium, a brief meeting was held where it was determined that Dr. Chaychenko would assume the duties as chairperson of the Obesity Working Group.

Planned activities for 2018-2019

  • Analyse the results from the survey on the diagnosis of hyperinsulinism and insulin resistance.
  • To create subgroups to study different subtypes of obesities. The study of monogenic and syndromic obesities will be developed.
  • Evaluation of comorbidities in childhood obesity in large populations to determine environmental factors in addition to obesity.
  • To organise studies on miRNAs and exomiRNAs.
  • To perform multination metabolomic studies to better understand hyperinsulinemia in childhood obesity.
  • To broaden the search for rare CNVs involved in obesity

For further information on the activities of this Working Group please contact the Coordinator Tatyana Chaychenko at tatyana.chaychenko@gmail.com 

Working Group Members 


Tatyana Chaychenko


Jesús Argente


Bessie Spiliotis


Antje Körner


Ze'ev Hochberg


Claude Marcus


Susann Blüher


Nikki Davis


Jovanna Dahlgren


Ronni Jacobsen


Flavia Prodam


Susann Blueher


Gabriel Á Martos-Moreno


Annika Janson


Sergio Bernasconi


Stephanie Kerr