Rasa Verkauskiene

Committee Chair

The Andrea Prader Prize is an annual Leadership Award given to an ESPE member. It is the most prestigious ESPE award, given in recognition of excellence in leadership, a lifetime achievement in teaching and research, and an outstanding overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology.

Nomination and application

Award information

  • Annual leadership award given to a member of the Society.
  • Most prestigious senior ESPE award.
  • Created to honour lifetime achievement in teaching andresearch, as well as to recognise outstanding leadership and overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology.
  • Awarded through nomination and final selection by the Andrea Prader Committee.

How to nominate

  • Candidates must be nominated in writing by an ESPE member.
  • To nominate, please send a letter of endorsement, outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award to espe@mci-group.com.


  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Once nominated, candidates will be asked to submit their full CV, including their contributions to ESPE, and a publication list, including citation analysis.
  • The winner will be invited to present a lecture at the ESPE Annual Meeting.
  • All nominations must be submitted electronically to espe@mci-group.com.
  • Candidates may only be considered for one award each year. If a candidate is nominated for more than one award, they will be asked to choose which award they wish to be considered for.

Eligibility criteria

  • Candidates must be ESPE members and should be nominated by one ESPE member. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Current members of ESPE Council and the Andrea Prader Committee are ineligible for this award.


  • A minimum of three nominations is required for this award. If fewer than three nominations are received the AP committee may reopen nominations for the award.
  • All nominations will be acknowledged by email.
  • Selection of the award winner will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee.
  • The decision will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee and is based on the candidates’ excellence in leadership, lifetime achievement in teaching and research, and an outstanding overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology.
  • The successful candidate will be notified by the President by the end of June. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.

Award winners

2023 | George P. Chrousos

Patras, Greece

2022 | Juliane Léger

Paris, France

2021 | Francis de Zegher

Leuven, Belgium

2020 | Moshe Phillip

Petah Tikva, Israel

2019 | Jesús Argente

Madrid, Spain

2018 | Yves Le Bouc

Paris, France

2017 | Kerstin Albertsson-Wikland

Gothenburg, Sweden

2016 | Wieland Kiess

Leipzig, Germany

2015 | Francesco G. Chiarelli

Chieti, Italy

2014 | Jean–Pierre Bourguignon

Liege, Belgium

2013 | Annette Grüters-Kieslich

Berlin Germany

2012 | David Dunger

Cambridge, UK

2011 | Charles Sultan

Montpellier, France

2010 | Ze’ev Hochberg

Haifa, Israel

2009 | Jan Maarten Wit

Leiden, The Netherlands

2008 | Stenvert Drop

Rotterdam, The Netherlands

2007 | Martin Savage

London, UK

2006 | Ieuan Hughes

Cambridge, UK

2005 | Wolfgang G Sippell

Kiel, Germany

2004 | Stephen Shalet

Manchester, UK

2003 | Michael Ranke

Tübingen, Germany

2002 | Jean-Louis Chaussain

Paris, France

2001 | Paul Czernichow

Paris, France

2000 | Charles Brook

London, UK

1999 | Zvi Laron

Petah Tikva, Israel

1998 | Hans Åkerblom

Helsinki, Finland

1997 | Walter Teller

Ulm, Germany

1996 | Niels Skakkebaek

Copenhagen, Denmark

1995 | Pierre Sizonenko

Geneva, Switzerland

1994 | Maguelone Forest

Lyon, France

1993 | Martin Ritzèn

Stockholm, Sweden

1992 | Nathalie Josso

Montrouge, France

1991 | Albert Aynsley-Green

Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

1990 | Raphael Rappaport

Paris, France

1989 | Leo Van den Brande

Utrecht, The Netherlands

1988 | Milo Zachmann

Zürich, Switzerland