Rasa Verkauskiene

Committee Chair

The Outstanding Clinician Award was established in 2001 and recognises outstanding clinical contribution to the practice of Clinical Paediatric Endocrinology.

Nomination and application

Award information

  • Recognising an outstanding contribution to the practice of clinical paediatric endocrinology.
  • Awarded by the Andrea Prader Committee based on nominations from ESPE members.

How to nominate

  • Candidates must be nominated in writing by an ESPE member.
  • To nominate, please send a letter letter of endorsement, outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award to espe@mci-group.com.


  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Once nominated, candidates will be asked to submit their full CV, including contributions to ESPE.
  • The Outstanding Clinician Award is conferred during a presentation ceremony at the ESPE annual meeting with a brief response from the winner; the award does not include a lecture within the awards session.
  • All nominations must be submitted electronically to espe@mci-group.com.
  • Candidates may only be considered for one award each year. If a candidate is nominated for more than one award, they will be asked to choose which award they wish to be considered for.

Eligibility criteria

  • The award is open to ESPE members only.
  • There is no age limitation.
  • Current members of the ESPE Council and the Andrea Prader Committee are ineligible for this award.


  • A minimum of three nominations is required for this award. If fewer than three nominations are received the Andrea Prader Committee may reopen nominations for the award.
  • All nominations will be acknowledged by email.
  • The decision will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee and is based on the candidates’ contribution to clinical paediatric endocrinology and involvement in ESPE activities.
  • The successful candidate will be notified by the President by the end of June. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.

Award winners

2023 | Nataliya Zelinska

Zhytomyr, Ukraine

2022 | Abdullah Bereket

Istanbul, Turkey

2021 | Orit Pinhas-Hamiel


2020 | Gary Butler

London, UK

2019 | Jan Lebl

Prague, Czech Republic

2018 | John Gregory

Cardiff, UK

2017 | Feyza Darendeliler

Istanbul, Turkey

2016 | Hilary Hoey

Leixlip, Ireland

2015 | Malcolm Donaldson

Glasgow, UK

2014 | Tomasz Romer

Warsaw, Poland

2013 | Sergio Bernasconi

Parma, Italy

2012 | Chris Kelnar

Edinburgh, UK

2011 | Isis Ghali

Cairo, Egypt

2010 | Herwig Frisch

Vienna, Austria

2009 | Giusseppe Chiumello

Milan, Italy

2008 | Ferenc Péter

Budapest, Hungary

2007 | Catherine Dacou-Voutetakis

Athens, Greece

2006 | Ruth Illig

Zurich, Switzerland

2005 | Jean-Claude Job

Paris, France

2004 | Emanuele Cacciari

Bologna, Italy

2003 | Otto Westphal

Göteborg, Sweden

2002 | Jaakko Perheentupa

Helsinki, Finland

2001 | Dagfinn Aarskog

Bergen, Norway