Rasa Verkauskiene

Committee Chair

The Young Investigator Award recognises outstanding scientific work by practising paediatricians who are ESPE members. The evaluation is based on the overall quality of a candidate’s CV in this regard and, in particular, on three original publications submitted by each applicant.

Nomination and application

Award information

  • Conferred to up to two paediatricians, still in training or no more than 5 years in a Senior (PI) role.
  • In recognition of their outstanding scientific work, based on their CV and three original publications submitted.
  • Applicants must be ESPE members themselves and sponsored by two members of ESPE.

How to nominate

  • Candidates must be sponsored by two members of ESPE.
  • Sponsoring members must prepare for their applicant a nomination proposal, which highlights the research contributions made by the submitted papers and the essential role of the applicant in the research projects.
  • The following information must be submitted in the online application form:
    • Three original papers, published or accepted for publication, in international peer-reviewed journals. The candidates should be the first author of at least one of the papers.
    • An up-to-date full CV and a list of publications, including H-index.
    • Two sponsor letters from ESPE members


  • Two awards are given each year.
  • Candidates should be still in training, or have no more than five years’ experience in a Senior (PI) role.
  • Candidates may only be considered for one award each year. If a candidate is nominated for more than one award, they will be asked to choose which award they wish to be considered for.

Eligibility criteria

  • Applicants must be practising paediatricians who are ESPE members.
  • Candidates should be still in training, or have no more than five years’ experience in a Senior (PI) role.
  • Current members of ESPE Council and the Andrea Prader Committee are ineligible for this award.


  • A minimum of three nominations is required for this award. If fewer than three nominations are received the Andrea Prader Committee may reopen nominations for the award.
  • All nominations will be acknowledged by email.
  • The prize is awarded through final selection by the Andrea Prader Committee.
  • The decisions taken by the Andrea Prader Committee are based on the overall quality of the candidate’s CV, the sponsor letters, and the three original publications submitted by each applicant.
  • The successful applicants will be notified by the President by the end of June. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.

Award winners

2023 | Alexander S. Busch

Recklinghausen, Germany

2023 | Eloise Giabicani


2022 | Dulanjalee Kariyawasam

Paris, France

2022 | Angela Lucas-Herald

Glasgow, UK

2021 | Sasha Howard

London, UK

2021 | Willem Staels

Brussels, Belgium

2020 | Tero Varimo

Vantaa, Finland

2020 | Nicolas Nicolaides

Athens, Greece

2019 | Sabine Hannema

Leiden, The Netherlands

2018 | Laetitia Martinerie

Paris, France

2018 | Valentina Chiavaroli

Chieti, Italy

2017 | Philippe Lysy

Brussels, Belgium

2017 | Antti Saari

Toivala, Finland 

2016 | Loredana Marcovecchio

Chieti, Italy

2016 | Tanja Kuiri-Hänninen

Kuopio, Finland

2015 | Tulay Guran

Istanbul, Turkey

2015 | Andrew Dauber

Cincinnati, USA

2014 | Pauliina Utriainen

Helsinki, Finland

2014 | Joerg Oliver Semler

Cologne, Germany

2013 | Jacques Beltrand

Paris, France

2013 | Cosimo Giannini

Chieti, Italy

2012 | Leandro Soriano-Guillén

Madrid, Spain

2012 | Antonis Voutetakis

Athens, Greece

2011 | Nils Krone

Birmingham, UK

2011 | Helen Storr

London, UK

2010 | Martine Cools

Ghent, Belgium

2009 | Felix Riepe

Keil, Germany

2008 | Luisa de Sanctis

Turin, Italy

2007 | Antje Korner

Leipzig, Germany

2006 | Mirelle Castanet

Paris, France

2005 | Christa Flück

Bern, Switzerland

2004 | Taneli Raivio

Helsinki, Finland

2003 | Jose Moreno

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

2003 | Delphine Jaquet

Paris, France

2002 | John Achermann

London, UK

2002 | Annemie Boehmer

Rotterdam, The Netherlands

2001 | Ken Ong

Cambridge, UK

2000 | J Dötsch

Erlangen, Germany

1999 | Heiko Krude

Berlin, Germany

1999 | Evelein F Gevers

Rotterdam, The Netherlands

1998 | Martin Wabitsch

Ulm, Germany

1997 | Päivi J Miettinen

Helsinki, Finland

1997 | Gerhard Binder

Tübingen, Germany

1995 | Olaf Hiort

Lübeck, Germany

1994 | Peter Clayton

Manchester, UK

1993 | Jesus Argente

Madrid, Spain