The Andrea Prader Prize is an annual Leadership Award given to an ESPE member. It is the most prestigious ESPE award, given in recognition of excellence in leadership, a lifetime achievement in teaching and research, and an outstanding overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology.

Nominations are open for the 2024 Prize. Deadline for nominations is now closed.

2023 Award Winner: George P. Chrousos, M.D., Patras, Greece


  • Candidates must be nominated in writing by an ESPE member
  • To nominate, please send a letter letter of endorsement, outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award to


  • Self nominations are not accepted.
  • Once nominated, candidates will be asked to submit their full CV, including their contributions to ESPE, and a publication list, including citation analysis
  • The winner will be invited to present a lecture at the ESPE Annual Meeting.
  • All nominations must be submitted electronically to
  • Candidates may only be considered for one award each year. If a candidate is nominated for more than one award, they will be asked to choose which award they wish to be considered for.


  • Candidates must be ESPE members and should be nominated by one ESPE member. Self nominations are not accepted.
  • Current members of ESPE Council and the Andrea Prader Committee are ineligible for this award.


  • A minimum of three nominations is required for this award. If fewer than three nominations are received the AP committee may reopen nominations for the award.
  • All nominations will be acknowledged by email.
  • Selection of the award winner will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee.
  • The decision will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee and is based on the candidates' excellence in leadership, lifetime achievement in teaching and research, and an outstanding overall contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology.
  • The successful candidate will be notified by the Secretary General by the end of June. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.

Previous Winners

Click to show previous winners

2022 Professor Juliane Léger, Paris, France

2021 Professor Francis de Zegher, Leuven, Belgium

2020 Professor Moshe Phillip, Petah Tikva, Israel

2019 Professor Jesús Argente, Madrid, Spain

2018 Professor Yves Le Bouc, Paris, France

2017 Dr Kerstin Albertsson-Wikland, Gothenburg, Sweden 

2016 Dr Wieland Kiess, Leipzig, Germany

2015 Professor Francesco G. Chiarelli, Chieti, Italy

2014 Dr Jean–Pierre Bourguignon, Liege, Belgium

2013 Dr Annette Grüters-Kieslich, Berlin Germany

2012 Dr David Dunger, Cambridge, UK

2011 Dr Charles Sultan, Montpellier, France

2010 Dr Ze'ev Hochberg, Haifa, Israel

2009 Dr Jan Maarten Wit, Leiden, The Netherlands

2008 Dr Stenvert Drop, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

2007 Dr Martin Savage, London, UK

2006 Dr Ieuan Hughes, Cambridge, UK

2005 Dr Wolfgang G Sippell, Kiel, Germany

2004 Dr Stephen Shalet, Manchester, UK

2003 Dr Michael Ranke, Tübingen, Germany

2002 Dr Jean-Louis Chaussain, Paris, France

2001 Dr Paul Czernichow Paris, France

2000 Dr Charles Brook, London, UK

1999 Dr Zvi Laron, Petah Tikva, Israel

1998 Dr Hans Åkerblom, Helsinki, Finland

1997 Dr Walter Teller Ulm, Germany

1996 Dr Niels Skakkebaek, Copenhagen, Denmark

1995 Dr Pierre Sizonenko, Geneva, Switzerland

1994 Dr Maguelone Forest, Lyon, France

1993 Dr Martin Ritzèn, Stockholm, Sweden

1992 Dr Nathalie Josso, Montrouge, France

1991 Dr Albert Aynsley-Green, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

1990 Dr Raphael Rappaport, Paris, France

1989 Dr Leo Van den Brande, Utrecht, The Netherlands

1988 Dr Milo Zachmann, Zürich, Switzerland