Nominations are open for the 2023 Award. Deadline for nominations extended until 27 January 2023.


Nominations are invited for the International Outstanding Clinician Award through the following procedure:

  • Self nominations are not accepted.
  • Candidates must be nominated in writing by one ESPE member or an official representative of a sister society to ESPE.
  • Any candidate nominated by an ESPE member should be endorsed by the local sister society.
  • A letter of endorsement, outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award, should accompany the nomination.
  • Candidates should submit their full CV.
  • The International Outstanding Clinician Award is conferred during a presentation ceremony at the ESPE annual meeting with a brief response from the winner; the award does not include a lecture within the awards session.
  • All nominations must be submitted electronically to
  • Candidates may only be considered for one award each year. If a candidate is nominated for more than one award, they will be asked to choose which award they wish to be considered for.


  • Candidates should have made significant contribution to the field of paediatric endocrinology in their individual countries.
  • There is no age limitation.
  • Candidates must be nominated by one ESPE member or the official representative of a sister society to ESPE .
  • Candidates must be from a country outside Europe and the Mediterranean basin.
  • Current members of the ESPE Council and the Andrea Prader Committee are ineligible for this award.


  • A minimum of 3 nominations is required for this award. If fewer than 3 nominations are received the AP committee may reopen nominations for the award.
  • All nominations will be acknowledged by email.
  • Selection of the award winner will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee.
  • The decision will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee and is based on the candidates' outstanding contribution and lifetime commitment to the practice of clinical paediatric endocrinology in a country outside Europe and the Mediterranean basin.
  • The successful candidate will be notified by the Secretary General by the end of June. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.

Previous Winners

Click to show previous winners

2022 Professor Mitchell Geffner, Los Angeles, USA

2021 Professor Veronica Mericq, Chile

2020 Professor Jean-Pierre Chanoine, Vancouver, Canada

2019 Professor Abiola Oduwole, Lagos, Nigeria

2018 Dr Palany Raghupathy, Bangalore, India

2017 Dr Margaret Zacharin, Melbourne, Australia

2016 Dr Marco Rivarola, Buenos Aires, Argentina

2015 Dr Meena Desai, Mumbai, India