This award recognises research achievements of outstanding quality in the fields of basic endocrine science or of clinical paediatric endocrinology.

Nominations are now closed.

2022 Award Winner : Mehul Dattani, London, UK


  • Candidates must be nominated in writing by an ESPE member.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • A letter of endorsement, outlining the suitability of the candidate for the award, should accompany the nomination.
  • Candidates should submit their full CV, including contributions to ESPE.
  • Candidates should submit a publication list, including citation analysis.
  • The winner is invited to present a lecture at the ESPE Annual Meeting.
  • All nominations must be submitted electronically to
  • Candidates may only be considered for one award each year. If a candidate is nominated for more than one award, they will be asked to choose which award they wish to be considered for.


  • Candidates must be ESPE members and should be nominated by one ESPE member.
  • Current members of the ESPE Council and the Andrea Prader Committee are ineligible for this award.


  • A minimum of 3 nominations is required for this award. If fewer than 3 nominations are received the AP committee may reopen nominations for the award.
  • All nominations will be acknowledged by email.
  • Selection of the award winner will be made by the Andrea Prader Committee.
  • The decision taken by the Andrea Prader Committee is based on the candidates' research achievements of outstanding quality in the fields of basic endocrine science or of clinical paediatric endocrinology.
  • The successful candidate will be notified by the Secretary General by the end of June. Candidates who have not received notification by this date should assume that they have not been successful.


Previous Winners

Click to show previous winners

2022 Professor Mehul Dattani, London, UK

2021 Professor S. Faisal Ahmed, Glasgow, UK

2020 Professor Antje Körner, Leipzig, Germany

2019 Professor Irène Netchine, Paris, France

2018 Dr Christa Flück, Bern, Switzerland

2017 Dr Heiko Krude, Berlin, Germany

2016 Dr Ken Ong, Cambridge, United Kingdom

2015 Dr Anders Juul, Copenhagen, Denmark

2014 Dr Moshe Phillip, Petah Tikva, Israel

2013 Dr Lourdes Ibáñez, Barcelona, Spain

2012 Dr Michel Polak, Paris, France

2011 Dr Anita Hokken-Koelega, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

2010 Dr Peter Clayton, Manchester, UK

2009 Dr Yves Le Bouc, Paris, France

2008 Dr Leo Dunkel, Kuopio, Finland

2007 Dr Primus Mullis, Bern, Switzerland

2006 Dr Mikael Knip, Helsinki, Finland

2005 Dr Serge Amselem, Creteil, France

2004 Dr Francis de Zegher, Leuven, Belgium

2003 Dr Annette Grüters-Kieslich, Berlin, Germany

2002 Dr David Dunger, Cambridge, UK

2001 Dr Charles Sultan, Montpellier, France

2000 Dr Ze'ev Hochberg, Haifa, Israel

1999 Dr Jean-Pierre Bourguignon, Liege, Belgium

1998 Dr Kerstin Albertsson-Wikland, Gothenburg, Sweden

1997 Dr Michel Aubert, Geneva, Switzerland

1996 Dr Michel Binoux, Paris, France